Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy
1. The step backwards before reaching first base
|
Doesn't work because the BR was not attempting to delay or avoid a tag.
Quote:
2. The caught fly ball ... The fact that the ball hit the batter does not change its status as a fly ball.
|
Yes it does. See Rule 1-CATCH-E.
|
Andy,
Tom is correct, the defense did NOT retire this player.
However, I would have to see this "tap" before I'm going to rule the BR out. IOW, I'm going to have to be convinced it actually kept the BR in playable territory as it doesn't seem to exactly be the same thing as grabbing her arm to keep her from leaving play.