Thread: Technical Free
View Single Post
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 03, 2003, 03:49am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by just another ref
[B]This specific thing is covered in the Simplified and Illustrated book. (and nowhere else as far as I know)
Page 55 8-3 (A1).....legally enters to attempt one or both of the free throws. The replaced starter may not return until after the clock has run following the last free throw.
Wow! Thanks for pointing that out JAR. There is now no disputing that this is how the NFHS interprets the play.

Interesting that they chose to use the words "replaced started" as JR does instead of saying "changed" as that is the word used in 3-2-2a.

I must say, however, that I firmly believe that this understanding does not fit with the current rules as they are written. I think that the NFHS only gave this play a cursory thought and that they tricked themselves. The precise reading of the rules and definitions that Hawks Coach and I have outlined above shows why they goofed. Specifically, that this team member does not meet the definition of a player, since the game doesn't start until the ball becomes live.

I can accept that this is the way the NFHS wants the play called, but then I must insist that they need to amend their rules. MTD, please send a copy of this thread to the NFHS!
Reply With Quote