Thread: Technical Free
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 02, 2003, 08:19pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
JR
You claim that 3-3-2 uses the word replace - it does not in any part of that article. It refers to changing a designated starter, it never refers to changing a player or replacing a player or a starter. Substitutions are a separate article and no reference to 3-2-2 is made in the 3-3-3 or 3-3-4.



Say what?

Rule 3-3-2- direct quote- "The entering substitute shall not replace a designated jumper or free thrower except as in 8-2 and 3.If the substitute enters to replace a player who must jump or attempt a free throw, then he/she shall withdraw until the next opportunity to substitute"! The word "replace" is used twice in this rule! In this sitch,the designated starter B1 is being replaced by B6 as the free thrower, by the clear language above. Rule 3-3-4 now tells you how to handle a replaced player(B1) who wants to sub back in again-- direct quote from the rule- "A player who has been replaced....shall not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been properly started following his/her replacement.". That rule directly uses the verbiage "replace" and "replacement" also, and it tells you exactly when the next legal opportunity to substitute will take place- i.e. after the clock has started.

I think that this one is about as clear as any rule that the FED has ever written!
Reply With Quote