Thread: Technical Free
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 02, 2003, 06:24pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
[/B]
I think you're saying that even if the book person changes the starters listed in the book, (which is legal as rpirtle points our as per 3-2-2) and B6 is listed as a starter, that he is still a sub, and B1 can't come back in until the clock has legally started? Are you saying that 3-2-2 is fuzzily written, and probably shouldn't cover pre-game substitution situations?
[/B][/QUOTE]I am saying that B1 was originally listed as a starter on the official scoring sheet. B1 then was subsequently replaced by B6. That is legal by the content of rule 3-3-2. Note that R3-3-2 uses the exact same terminology as R3-3-4-i.e. someone is being "replaced", as in B6 replacing B1. After B1 has been replaced, B1 now has to comply with the provisions of R3-4-4, and can't re-enter the game before the clock has started again. I am saying that both these rules(R3-3-2&4) are clearly written, and that there no exceptions to them noted in the rules or case books. Imo, I think that Nevada is trying to apply a completely different rule,which is fuzzily written,but which isn't really germane to this particular situation.

As Alex Hawkins said "That's my story, and I'm sticking to it".
Reply With Quote