View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2003, 09:59am
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray
so, once the horn goes, if the ball is still in the shooter's hand, the ball is dead and no foul can be called? Even if the shooter clearly got fouled before releasing the ball?? (I know this is not quite the sitch described above) I must be having a brain cramp on this one.
See Rule 6-7-Exception-3:" The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends when...a foul is committed by an opponent of a player who has started a try or tap for goal before the foul occurred, provided time did not expire before the ball was in flight... "

In other words, the ball is dead when the horn sounds, and a foul committed during a dead ball is ignored (unless it is flagrant or technical).
Reply With Quote