Quote:
Originally posted by zebra44
This happened in one of my games last week. Girl gains control in her frontcourt while sitting down and throws a pass to teammate in backcourt.Just before ball reaches teammate, partner blows whistle "anticipating" over and back call. Teammate does not see pass coming and does not touch it. It goes out of bounds on endline. What did the inadvertant whistle do to the play? Where do we take it out?
|
In high school,the play is dead immediately when the whistle blows.Team A had team control when the whistle went,so they will get a throw-in at the closest OOB spot to where the ball was when the whistle blew.
Unfortunately,that's the book call,as per casebook play 2.11.10SitC(b). All you can do is admit that you screwed up-to both head coaches at the same time,preferably- explain the rule,and get the ball back into play as soon as possible.And play deaf for a while.