Quote:
Originally posted by zebra44
This happened in one of my games last week. Girl gains control in her frontcourt while sitting down and throws a pass to teammate in backcourt.Just before ball reaches teammate, partner blows whistle "anticipating" over and back call. Teammate does not see pass coming and does not touch it. It goes out of bounds on endline. What did the inadvertant whistle do to the play? Where do we take it out?
|
High School rules seem to say:
Whistle made the ball dead.
Team control ends on a dead ball.
No inadveratent whistle rule.
Use the arrow.
College Rules seem to say:
Team control ends on whistle, but ...
...specifically says give it back to team in control before the whistle. 7-19
For me either way works, because at the time of the whistle we don't know what the ball will do, until it has done it.
Although the right thing to do seems to be to award a throw-in to the defense, I don't think we can do it.