View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2025, 08:53am
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
If we're to say that any part of the ball is above the rim after the ball touches the backboard is off limits, it really should just be that any ball that touches the backboard with a chance to go is eligible for a GT violation. Just to make it simpler and we're not quibbling about if the ball was a quarter inch above or below when it was touched.

If they want it to be completely above the rim, let's just forget the rule exists.
To be fair, the rule for GT has two different parts. One is if the ball does not touch the backboard, and one is when it does. There is nothing in the current rule that they just posted that says anything about how much the ball is above the rim. It does not even say being above the rim is a requirement. It only states that if it touches the backboard and has a chance to go in, that is enough to be GT if touched by the opponent.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote