Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Goodwin
The vet was correct - but only through the end of the 2004-05 season - when the current rule was put into place the following year.
Per the relevant parts of 4-36:
ART. 1 . . . Method of resuming play due to ... a double technical ... foul as in Rule 4-19-8.
ART. 2 . . . Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods: a. A throw-in to the team that was in control: 1. In the frontcourt at one of the four designated spots nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred. (Diagram 5)
A few casebook play illustrate, but the rule itself is sufficient.
Ancient reference:
https://forum.officiating.com/basket...tml#post314497
"Rules are easy. Rules changes are hard." -that famous official from a little corner of Connecticut.
|
You did a great job of providing the historical context and how the rule has changed, but then you cited the wrong part of the POI rule. The relevant part for this situation is part b.