View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2024, 06:44am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,374
No New Interpretations ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
...based on an article in the September IAABO Sportorials magazine, that some new NFHS case plays may be published that may possibly help settle our debates.

NFHS 5-2-1: A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team’s own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown.

5.2.1 SITUATION C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: (a) B1 who is in the three-point area; (b) B1 who is in the two-point area; (c) A2 who is in the three-point area; or (d) A2 who is in the two-point area. The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. RULING: In (a) and (b), three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line. In (c), score three points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three- point line. In (d), score two points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred in the two-point area.

4.41.4 - Situation B: A1’s three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. Ruling: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
These NFHS interpretations for the 2024 season are designed to provide clarity for officials determining whether a thrown ball from behind the arc should count for two or three points. Of course, only 15,000 officials are IAABO members, so I'm looking forward to new NFHS interpretations for the 2024-25 season.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Case book play 4.41.4 SITUATION B ... Well, this case play did not go away to my understanding.
Just got my 2024-25 NFHS Rulebook, Casebook, and Simplified and Illustrated in the mail yesterday.

At first look I can't find any new case plays to clarify these "odd" tries, passes, and tipped balls from behind the three point line.

The problem is that the case play 4.41.4 Situation B (that's been around for many years) that both JRutledge and I refer to doesn't fully match the language in Rule 5-2-1.

We all know that some case plays do not fully match the rule wording, one reason why they may be deemed worthy of being published in the casebook.

Many of us, including me, have expressed an opinion that a case play (interpretation) for a specific "odd" situation "trumps" rule language.

I'm disappointed that there are no new NFHS interpretations to clarify such "odd" tries, passes, and tipped balls from behind the three point line situations (as seemingly promised by IAABO).

But I have to agree with JRutledge that 4.41.4 Situation B carries the "most weight" in such situations, especially since (for me) 4.41.4 Situation B has now been fully "endorsed" by IAABO.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Oct 04, 2024 at 09:04am.
Reply With Quote