View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 21, 2023, 09:49am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Can The Leopard His Spots? (Jeremiah 13:23) …

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
92) Indicating the throw-in spot is done by the administering official before placing ball at disposal of thrower.

My answer: Yes

Answer Sheet: No Page 45 Diagram (bottom)
“This box is set by the administering official before placing the ball at the disposal of thrower.”

So it’s a “box” not a “spot”?

But the actual rule definition says that it's a "spot".

Nowhere does the actual rule call it a "box".

4-42-6: The designated throw-in spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation and is established and signaled by the official prior to putting the ball at the thrower’s disposal.

Why am I wrong?
Quote:
Originally Posted by joelpoli View Post
I believe that the IAABO manual (and Peter Webb) tells us that the calling official indicates the throwin spot and the administrating official designates the spot.
Thanks for trying to explain.

Indicates versus designates.

The Manual actually says "sets".

Did I really deserve to get this wrong?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote