Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
I am watching a simulcast of the Big 10 and ACC Championships late in the 3rd QTs of both games so my comment may not be as good as my normal Pulitzer Prize winner composing
I have a Backcourt Violation!
1) We all know the Rule for an Offensive Player who is Dribbling the Ball from completely in the Backcourt to completely in the Front Court and this Rule does not apply to an Offensive Player once the Ball has acquired Front Court Status.
2) Yes, the Division Line is not a Boundary Line but for determining Floor Violations by an Offensive Player who has PC of the Ball it has to considered the same as a Boundary Line.
3) We all know that when A1, who is Dribbling, steps on a Boundary Line, even if he/she is not touching the Ball, is considered to have made the Ball go Out-of-Bounds.
4) Therefore, the reasoning in (3) is the same logic/reasoning for the Dribbler in the Play that Billy has presented to the Forum.
5) Therefore, we have a Backcourt Violation.
MTD, Sr.
|
I agree with MTD and his logic.
Look at Rules 4-13-1 & 2. Those articles define Frontcourt & Backcourt. Thus the Division line is consider a Boundary line.
So, the result is a Backcourt violation with a throw-in at the 28' mark (NFHS)