View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 28, 2023, 10:08am
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
While the division line is in the backcourt for the team that stepped on it, it is also in the backcourt of the team getting the ball. So, the new offensive team is still getting that ball in their own backcourt. Thus, it stays at the line.

But, that argument is only clear if they step only on the painted line itself an not over the line. If they step entirely past the line, that does put them into the other teams frontcourt. Then, if they're half stepping on the line and half into the other team's frontcourt, the rule itself would be ambiguous. You could argue either result without an interpretation.
I agree if you step over that is different than stepping on the line. I am just saying that the NCAA addressed this and had to clarify this rule and the application.

I think they might need to clarify this with either an interpretation or even a case play. But something tells me they might not do that this year.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote