Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
The division line is considered by rule the BC. So if you call a violation there, then the new FC you would put the ball at the 28-foot mark. Now the NCAA made clear they wanted these plays where the line was touched, to put at the division line. Before officials would rightfully so at that level put the ball at the 28-foot mark until a clear change was made. That is what it appears Raymond is addressing.
Peace
|
While the division line is in the backcourt for the team that stepped on it, it is also in the backcourt of the team getting the ball. So, the new offensive team is still getting that ball in their own backcourt. Thus, it stays at the line.
But, that argument is only clear if they step only on the painted line itself an not over the line. If they step entirely past the line, that does put them into the other teams frontcourt. Then, if they're half stepping on the line and half into the other team's frontcourt, the rule itself would be ambiguous. You could argue either result without an interpretation.