I think I know the answer to this question (I usually don't, though, which is why I ask). The rule cited was as follows below:
Rule 4, Section 9, Article 1F of the rulebook, which reads that a player can be assessed a foul for “attempting to gain an advantage by interfering with the ball after a goal or by failing to immediately pass the ball to the nearest official after a whistle is blown.”
My question:
Interfering with the ball after a goal clearly requires the player to attempt to gain an advantage (i.e., by slowing the other team down, I presume).
Does the 2nd part of that rule also require the player to attempt to gain an advantage (by failing to immediately pass the ball to the nearest official after a whistle is blown?)
I don't think it does, but I saw a journalist on Twitter say that because she was not attempting to gain an advantage, a Technical should not have been called, even though Iowa had already been warned for a delay of game.
I wish the rule were broken down into two separate sentences to make is crystal clear, but I think the portion coming after the comma is independent of the "advantage attempt" requirement.
Are am I wrong? (Wouldn't be the first time....today).
|