| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			I think I know the answer to this question (I usually don't, though, which is why I ask). The rule cited was as follows below: 
 
Rule 4, Section 9, Article 1F of the rulebook, which reads that a player can be assessed a foul for “attempting to gain an advantage by interfering with the ball after a goal or by failing to immediately pass the ball to the nearest official after a whistle is blown.” 
 
My question: 
 
Interfering with the ball after a goal clearly requires the player to attempt to gain an advantage (i.e., by slowing the other team down, I presume). 
 
Does the 2nd part of that rule also require the player to attempt to gain an advantage (by failing to immediately pass the ball to the nearest official after a whistle is blown?)  
 
I don't think it does, but I saw a journalist on Twitter say that because she was not attempting to gain an advantage, a Technical should not have been called, even though Iowa had already been warned for a delay of game.  
 
I wish the rule were broken down into two separate sentences to make is crystal clear, but I think the portion coming after the comma is independent of the "advantage attempt" requirement.  
 
Are am I wrong? (Wouldn't be the first time....today).
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
			
			
			
				 
			
			
			
			
			
			
			
				
			
			
			
		 
	
	 |