View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 06, 2023, 01:35pm
Rufus Rufus is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Rufus: You covered a lot of bases. I'm surprised that you didn't cover this rare situation below:

6.4.5 SITUATION B: During an alternating-possession throw-in, thrower A1 holds the ball through the end-line plane and B1 grabs it, resulting in a held ball. RULING: Since the throw-in had not ended and no violation occurred, it is still A’s ball for an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-42-5)
Ha! Forgot about that one completely! I was still trying to wrap my head around why it's a violation for the same team to touch a ball that's inbounds but held by the thrower in versus not a violation for an opposing team member to do so. I suspect it has to due with same team gaining an advantage versus a play-on for opposing team members but that's what prompted the question (plus I'm a UConn fan and thought that was a miss by the [way more qualified than me] crew!).
Reply With Quote