Inbounding Question - Former Official In Need of Ginseng
Watching the end of the UConn vs. South Carolina WBB game yesterday had a casebook play come up I wanted to ask about (I'd look in the casebook but I've long since purged those from my library).
A1 is inbounding midcourt for a spot throw-in after time out. She's having difficulty doing so, however, and the 5 count is getting deep. A2, established with both feet inbounds, flashes in front of A1. A1 either (1) extends the ball into inbounds territory and, while still holding the ball, A2 also grasps it from her or (2) holds the ball OOB and A2 reaches into OOB to grasp the ball and take it into inbounds territory.
If I recall correctly it's a throw-in violation in both instances?
To play this out a bit more (and these didn't occur in the game, just got me thinking) same situation as above but this time (3) A1 holds the ball inbounds and B1 grabs it, or (4) A1 holds the ball inbounds and B1 makes illegal contact with the part of A1's arm that's over inbound territory, or (5) A1 holds the ball OOB and B1 makes illegal contact with A1's arm, or (6) A1 holds the ball OOB and B1 grabs it OOB.
I think the results of these are:
3 - no violation, play on
4 - common foul charged to B1
5 - intentional foul charged to B1
6 - technical foul charged to B1
Appreciate in advance any help you all can provide in shoring up my rapidly dwindling knowledge of fundamental basketball rules.
Last edited by Rufus; Mon Feb 06, 2023 at 09:34am.
Reason: Clarify Title
|