Thread: Fight rule
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2023, 06:13pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
Equal numbers of free throws cancel, so A will shoot 6.
I wish that you would grasp the basic concepts behind such rulings. FTs do not cancel; they simply are not awarded for double or simultaneous fouls.
The team members leaving the benches fall into the category of simultaneous fouls and that is why only six FTs would be attempted in the OPís scenario.

What the NFHS has never made clear is if FTs due to an unequal number of players on the court fighting can be considered simultaneous with team members departing the bench. It would be helpful to have a couple of case plays to make this point clear.
Reply With Quote