4.41.4 Situation B: A1’s three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. Ruling: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
Did they take that casebook play out?
|
4.41.4 Situation B is still in the current casebook.
4.41.4 Situation B seems clear and easy enough to understand (two points),
but it deals with only a try, not a pass, and does a great job of interpreting when the try ends (when it is certain the try is unsuccessful), thus, I agree with it (two points),
but only in the case of a try (not a pass).
The NFHS had made it very clear over that past twenty-one years that one can score three points from a pass as well as a try.
And passes don't automatically end when they fall "below ring level" (as trys do).
5-2-1: A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team’s own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown.
Comments On The 2001-02 Revisions
Three point basket clarified. Three points shall be awarded for any ball thrown, passed, or shot from beyond the three point arc that passes through a team’s own basket. Where in most situations a try can be differentiated from a pass, to eliminate possible confusion this change should help to clarify by not requiring judgment as to whether the ball in flight was a pass or a try.
5.2.1 SITUATION C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: (a) B1 who is in the three-point area; (b) B1 who is in the two-point area; (c) A2 who is in the three-point area; or (d) A2 who is in the two-point area. The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. RULING: In (a) and (b), three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line. In (c), score three points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three-point line. In (d), score two points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred in the two-point area.
Nowhere in 5.2.1 SITUATION C does the NFHS stipulate that the situation is a try, so it can be a pass, a pass that can be touched both inside and outside the three point arc by both offensive and defensive players.
While the main intent of 5.2.1 SITUATION C was probably to allow a common occurrence, defender with inside-the-three-point-arc-
status to attempt a block and deflect a try from inside the arc and still count it as three points if successful; however the caseplay never states that this is a try, thus it could be a pass.
This caseplay also doesn’t state anything about the possibility of this pass (or try) being “on target”.
4.41.4 Situation B
does state something about the possibility of a try being “on target”, but
specifically for a try, not a pass.
If a
try hits another player on the head and goes in, I've got two points (based on 4.41.4 Situation B), no matter if it's an offensive or defensive player, either inside or outside the three point arc.
If a
pass hits another player on the head and goes in (based on 5.2.1 SITUATION C), I'm probably counting it as two points or three points depending on offensive or defensive players, either inside or outside the three point arc.
Bottom line, the NFHS needs to do a much better job of interpreting situations like these described in this thread, especially regarding deflections, possibly "expanding" 4.41.4 Situation B to account for
both trys and passes.
Maybe things were better back in ancient times, simpler times when all the women were strong, all the men were good-looking, and all the children were above average, when officials had to use judgement and differentiate between a three point try and an alley oop pass?