Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
5.2.1 SITUATION C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: (a) B1 who is in the three-point area; (b) B1 who is in the two-point area; (c) A2 who is in the three-point area; or (d) A2 who is in the two-point area. The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. RULING: In (a) and (b), three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line. In (c), score three points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three- point line. In (d), score two points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred in the two-point area.
NFHS rule citation doesn't mention a ball touching a defender inside the arc (or outside the arc) as negating three points.
No NFHS rule language about the direction of the original pass, unlike the NCAA language.
|
Funny you did not read or show 5.2.1 Situation B which clearly states there was an "Alley-oop" type pass.
Quote:
With 2:24 left in the second quarter, B1 has the ball on the left wing in Team B's frontcourt, standing behind the three-point arc. B5 makes the backdoor cut toward the basket. B1 passes the ball toward the ring and B5 leaps for the potential "alley-oop" dunk. The ball however, enters and passes through the goal directly from B1's pass and is not touched by B5.
Score three points for Team B. A ball that is thrown into a team's own goal from behind the three-point arc scores three points, regardless whether the ball is thrown was an actual try for goal.
|
To me this suggests it is a throw at least at the goal. That is not what happened in this play at Minnesota at all.
Peace