Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The rule says (paraphrased) it's a T if the team delays the start of the second half. It does NOT say "after being notified, delays the start..."
It's like an excess TO -- the official is supposed to notify the team that they have used their last TO, but even if they don't, it's still a T.
I agree we can / should be a bit more flexible on the definition of "full minute" if the team hasn't been notified, but it's still on the team.
|
I think we're all agreeing to some extent or another. The difference is probably in how we would handle it individually.
Some officials are going to be the super-strict, T-them-up-at-61-seconds types regardless of whether they were warned - the type of police officers who write you a ticket at 1 mph over while you're trying to get your obviously-in-labor wife to the hospital. And others are going to let it go unless it's clearly egregious and obvious there's gamesmanship going on, along with the whole range in the middle.
I tend to be in the latter camp, myself - but everyone is different.