View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2022, 10:34am
Tru_in_Blu Tru_in_Blu is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
R1 on first, 2 outs. B4 hits a over the fence homer, but rounding 3rd she misses the base. Coach kinda grabs her and sends her back to third to touch the base. Ump notices this and calls coaches interference. How many, if any, runs score?
Can you site a rule reference?
Thanks in advance
8.6.4

The question about if R1's run would count would depend upon if she touched home plate before or after the infraction. This applies to when there are 2 outs.

Although this situation does not result in a dead ball and the ball remains live, the runner is out as soon as she is assisted by the coach. With less than 2 outs, it's a moot point and R1's run would count.

Cecil's point about runners must run the bases legally even in the case of a home run (dead ball).
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote