Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond
I don't understand your question?
|
Agree. Sorry, just thinking, and spit-balling, out loud.
During the time period before a throwin, while the official still has the ball in his hands before disposal, can a "simple" hold by a defender in any way be considered to be contact away from the ball with an opponent who is clearly not involved with a play, and thus, in any way be considered to be an intentional foul? The defender is clearly not involved with a play, because there is no play occurring at the time of the contact.
By "simple" hold I mean that the defender doesn't grab a jersey, push from behind, or bear hug the offensive player.
How about if one pushes the "not limited to" aspect of the definition?
When I picture various types of intentional fouls, I don't picture this as being one, but by rule ... dead ball contact ... not involved with a play ... yada, yada, yada?
I got away with this in my non-consequential play above. Was able to bamboozle a young, inexperienced coach with "rule language". Still left a bad taste in my mouth. I would have hated to have called this in a "big" consequential play and have had to explain it to my assigner. My assigner is not one to be bamboozled and distracted by shiny object "rule language".