Thread: Shot Clocks
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2022, 12:36am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
The NCAA rule states that a team "shall not be in continuous control of a ball in the backcourt for 10 seconds". This means that the 10-second count starts on the touch inbounds. This is different than NFHS rules, where it starts on player control inbounds.
Yet, the wording for the NFHS rule is essentially identical.

NFHS: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

The wording you cite is not the reason that the NFHS and NCAA different in their rulings.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote