
Tue Feb 22, 2022, 01:41pm
|
Courageous When Prudent
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
If the NFHS rule is to (as shown on nfhs.org) "Use the shot clock to administer the 10-second backcourt count (9-8). " then the practical effect is the same, at least for possessions that start with a full shot clock.
There are some differences (at least with NCAAW) when the ball gets knocked OOB by the defense, or there's a held ball (with the arrow favoring the offense) or the offense calls a TO. And, ilya is *technically* correct that if the 30-second shot clock shows, say, 25 AND the team is entitled to a new 10-seconds, the whistle shouldn't be blown until the shotclock shows14. Interps might make what is technically correct still wrong by rule.
|
I don't even think the NCAA-Men's rule and case books even address what we should do when we start a new 10-second under 30 seconds. It happens enough that it should be addressed.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
|