Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
NCAA (if I'm correct): Actual ten second rule (inbounds touch) matches how to use the shot clock (start on inbounds touch) for "counting" the ten second rule.
NFHS: Actual ten second rule (inbounds possession) does not match how to use the shot clock (start on inbounds touch) for "counting" the ten second rule.
|
If the NFHS rule is to (as shown on nfhs.org) "Use the shot clock to administer the 10-second backcourt count (9-8). " then the practical effect is the same, at least for possessions that start with a full shot clock.
There are some differences (at least with NCAAW) when the ball gets knocked OOB by the defense, or there's a held ball (with the arrow favoring the offense) or the offense calls a TO. And, ilya is *technically* correct that if the 30-second shot clock shows, say, 25 AND the team is entitled to a new 10-seconds, the whistle shouldn't be blown until the shotclock shows14. Interps might make what is technically correct still wrong by rule.