View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 26, 2022, 07:51pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Same issue of IAABO Inside The Lines: Nuances of Uniform Regulations:

“Knots” and “extensions” created by the use of pre-wrap are considered legal. The pre-wrap must be tied somehow. If the official rules the extensions would cause a safety issue, address the head coach to get them shortened to a reasonable length and still be tied appropriately.

I, and all of my local colleagues, interpret it this way, but is there a NFHS citation for such?
2019-20 Interps:
SITUATION 1: A1 is waiting at the table to substitute into the game. The official recognizes the substitute is wearing pre-wrap tied in the back as a headband. RULING: The substitute is permitted to enter the game wearing the pre-wrap as a headband provided it meets all the guidelines for a headband. (3-5-4b)

Case 3.5.4B was also new in this year. Play (C) originally had an INCORRECT ruling of "illegal" -- a correction was published making it LEGAL (as it now reads). I also have in my notes the words "pre-wrap allowed, even though it has ties / extensions" -- but I don;t have a reference as to where I obtained that and I don't see the corrections in the annual archives on the site.

Last edited by bob jenkins; Wed Jan 26, 2022 at 07:59pm.
Reply With Quote