Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond
My logic tells she didn't attempt to stand up because she purposely stopped at the point where she was on her knees, then she started a dribble before successfully standing up. My logic tells me if she were attempting to stand up, she wouldn't have started a new activity after being on her knees, she would have continued doing something that got her on her feet without dribbling the ball.
There is a difference between fact and opinion. The NFHS wording of this rule leads to different interpretations. That is easily remedied by adding a phrase to the rule itself ("acts including rising up on one's knees) or adding a case play that includes the specific act of rising to one's knees or publishing an official interpretation.
|
The entire travel rule is written to define what is legal and declares anything else as illegal. Since the case play that lists what a player on the ground may do and doesn't mention this as something that is legal, it is not legal. If a player were to rise to the feet, that wouldn't just be an attempt to stand up, it would actually be successfully standing up. If they only wanted a successful or complete attempt to stand to be a violation, it wouldn't say "attempt" in the rule.