View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2021, 04:01am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
So based on what I've read in this thread, there are officials who say it is legal for a player to tap the ball from one hand to the other in between dribbles?

Dribble, ball bounces up, A1 taps the ball with his right hand to his left hand, then dribbles (bats the ball to the floor) with his left hand. That is legal and I've been calling it wrong all these years?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

No, you're not wrong. Everyone is just referencing the wrong rule. There is a rule about he dribble ending when touched simultaneously with both hands but that isn't the relevant part.

Once the player bats (or pushes) the ball away form a hand on a dribble, they can't touch it again with a hand until it has hit the floor. This is the relevant article:
Rule 4, Section 15, ART. 2 . . . During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).

If what is being discussed were legal, a player could run down the court batting the ball between their hands without ever letting the ball hit the floor. At one time, that was actually legal, but it was long before I was born.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote