Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
The NFHS has to get up pretty early in the morning to slip one past Nevadaref.
"9-2-10 Note: The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds area or a player inbounds before the ball is released on the throw-in pass" first appeared in this form in 2010-11.
Previous to 2010-11 (at least back to 1996-97, the oldest rulebook in my library) it simply stated: "The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds area before the ball is released on the throw-in pass".
I believe that additional rule language was unannounced in 2010-11. Typical for the NFHS. Stupid NFHS.
Nevadaref probably had a valid gripe (still, doesn't one think that "bogus" is a little over the top) before the additional wording was added (unannounced) in 2010-11.
Odd that the annual (2009-10) interpretation (later a caseplay) came before the rule language addition (2010-11)?
Maybe it was a subsequent response by the NFHS to complaints by officials (like Nevadaref) about the annual interpretation?
If it was a subsequent response to complaints, shouldn't the year-later rule language addition been announced?
Stupid NFHS.
|
I learned something from this thread. That is a good thing.
However, the NFHS needs to edit the case play below and strike the following sentences. Neither are true.
9.2.5 SITUATION B: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in and is being guarded by B1. Before releasing the ball, A1 loses his/her balance, reaches out and puts his/her hand on B1 (who is inbounds) in an effort to regain his/her balance. RULING: Throw-in violation by A1.
A1 is required to remain out of bounds until releasing the throw-in pass. When A1 touches an inbounds player, he/she has inbound status. However, if the contact on B1 is illegal, a personal foul shall be called. (9-2-10 Note)