View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 08, 2021, 10:28am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,388
IAABO Survey Says …

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Is this the IAABO commentary about the play like BM normally posts ...
Yes.

Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.

https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...%2FMYUhw%3D%3D

IAABO Play Commentary Correct Answer: This is not a traveling violation.

White #35 appears to jump to attempt a try when the ball slips from his grasp. White #35 then returns to the floor and recovers the ball.

This is considered a fumble. By NFHS rules, this would be a legal play. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player's grasp. (4-21)

A player may legally recover a fumble, which is what occurred in this play. After recovering the ball, the ball handler would establish a pivot foot outlined in the traveling rules. (4-44)


Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is a traveling violation 71%. This is not a traveling violation 29% (including me).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote