View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 08, 2021, 07:01am
RefLarry RefLarry is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 80
This is not a traveling violation.

This is not a traveling violation according to IAABO

as BillyM says"Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum."


Play Commentary
White #35 appears to jump to attempt a try when the ball slips from his grasp. White #35 then returns to the floor and recovers the ball.
This is considered a fumble. By NFHS rules, this would be a legal play.
A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player's grasp. (4-21)
A player may legally recover a fumble, which is what occurred in this play. After recovering the ball, the ball handler would establish a pivot foot outlined in the traveling rules. (4-44)

Last edited by RefLarry; Thu Jul 08, 2021 at 05:06pm.
Reply With Quote