Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
IAABO Make The Call Video
Is this a Foul or legally blocked shot? Did the Lead take a good approach to get an angle on this play?
Two choices: The ruling of a foul is correct. This is a good block and there is no foul on the play.
My comment: This is a good block and there is no foul on the play. Tough call. Looks like the Lead may have been straight-lined. What happened to the rule about keeping the endlines clear under the baskets, both baskets in this video?
|
I say the video is inconclusive. Official was in a good spot to see if he got the arm vs. the ball.
As for the endlines, I see nothing there that I would address. While many gyms have a wall not all that far from the endline, there are gyms with bleacher's along the endlines or larges amounts of space. If there is a wall, fine, keep the area clear. However, if there is 100' and/or seating, that really isn't what the rule was meant to address.