View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 23, 2003, 11:09am
Lotto Lotto is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Sorry, Lotto. Check out NCAA 10-11-2b. Participating after disqualification is a flagrant T. Even in NCAA, flagrant T's are penalized by 2 shots and the ball. (Women's is the same, but they don't call it "flagrant" for some reason.)

So, sub A6 in for A1. A6 shoots A1's FT(s). Then anybody on Team B shoots the T. Then B's ball at midcourt.
My bad. I read the OP too quickly, thinking that A1's five fouls were discovered when B1's foul was reported. (In other words, the table didn't notice the five fouls at the time of A1's fifth foul.) In that case, I wouldn't call the flagrant T, since A1 hadn't been disqualified yet because of the table error. Your penalty is exactly correct in the situation the OP described, with the addendum that the women would take the ball in at the designated spot nearest where the flagrant T occurred. (I'm not sure where that would be! After all, A1 didn't participate after disqualification in a single spot. I'd probably put it in play at the division line anyway.)

Fortunately, here in NY, where HS girls play under modified NCAA rules, every T is two shots and the ball at the division line. So at least I would have made the right call for the games that I work...
Reply With Quote