Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky
While I basically agree I would add that they are not exactly the same play. One involves a pass while the other does not. Probably comes down to semantics but perhaps that FIBA case play was meant to implicate that.
Is there another FIBA case that describes a deflected (by the defense) pass that is retrieved by the passer and dribbling is allowed?
(Pretty odd FIBA case. Consider a pass from A1 that hits an outstretched hand of the defender. The defender had is hand in the position before the ball was thrown. Since the ball hit the hand and not vice versa, can A1 not retrieve and begin dribbling? Have fun selling that call)
|
I cannot find another case which describes a deflection. But we have always allowed a new dribble after a deflection with a deflection signal. I agree with you that both cases are not exactly the same. It's a judgement on the player's intention.