View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 22, 2020, 10:42pm
bucky bucky is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
A1 didn't move during this? Then it's nothing, the same as if A1 just tossed the ball in the air without moving.

I'm confused -- what part of the definitions doesn't fit here?
A1, in the BC, dribbles and stops, picking up his dribble. A1 throws the ball, which hits the opponent's rim and returns directly back to A1 who catches it. How do you rule?

My "definitions" comments relates to the ball hitting the opponent's backboard. The definition of a dribble excludes hitting the opponent's backboard (and official). The case book indicates that it is a dribble. If someone were to rely solely on the definition of a dribble from the rule book, then hitting the opponent's backboard would not be a dribble.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote