View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 10, 2020, 11:39am
RefsNCoaches RefsNCoaches is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Indiana
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I had the exact play yesterday. Of course my game wasn't on national television but was a middle school girls game. Girl receives a pass on the wing, outside the three point arc, with both feet on the floor. She takes a bunny hop forward a few inches, both feet simultaneously coming off the floor, both feet coming back down simultaneously to contact the floor, and shoots the ball. I sounded my whistle for a travel and sure enough the ball goes in. Wiped off the basket. Coach wan't too happy with me. Was I wrong?

Billy...I don't think you're wrong in your call...I would call it as well...

This is why I posted it...I may be over thinking it based on the fact that catching the ball with both feet, either may become the pivot foot. I'm sure there is more specific wording in the rule book (that I don't have in front of me at work) pertaining to moving both feet......With that said, this is the classic old school playground rule "up and down"

I'm trying to find rationale for NOT calling it (as the C official in that game passed on it) but without rule or case book in front of me, along with massive head cold that has me looped up on cold meds...I may just be off my rocker today.
Reply With Quote