View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 06, 2020, 04:20am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,955
an obvious mistake by the timer to start or stop the clock, but must have definite knowledge to do so. (5-10-1)

If the clock was only 0.5 seconds in the play shown on the video, I do not believe that I could state that this was an obvious mistake by the timer. I would therefore rule the attempt unsuccessful and the period over.

If the clock was at 2.5 seconds for the throw-in, I am certain that the timer improperly started the clock prematurely and this qualifies as an obvious timing error. Now the question becomes what to do about it.

Unfortunately, the period ending horn cannot be ignored. It signals the expiration of time in a quarter and the players will stop playing. Hence, in the general case, it would be unfair to the defending team to count the try. While the defenders may not have stopped in this particular situation and the try was attempted immediately, that may not always be the case and we are not seeking a ruling for a specific situation, but rather one which will handle such a timing error near the end of a period for all situations. Imagine if the player in the video pump faked and dribbled once prior to shooting while the defenders just stood there because the horn had sounded.

The ruling which we seek was provided by the NFHS about a decade ago.


NFHS Basketball Interpretations 2009-10

SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A do over is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)

My ruling on the play in MTD's video for 2.5 seconds left on the clock is that the try does not count and the offense will have a throw-in on the side of the court nearest to where the player with the ball was when the horn sounded. The game clock will be set at 2.2 seconds.
Reply With Quote