View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 05, 2019, 02:57pm
crosscountry55 crosscountry55 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Never in person, but I've seen video where the defender slaps the left side of the backboard on a right side layup, obviously intentional, technical foul charged, but the official still can't score the basket if the ball doesn't go in.

This is the crux of the matter. There isnít corresponding language in the NFHS definition of BI that allows for awarding a goal like there is in NCAA. If you award BI in high school in this situation, youíre flat-out kicking a rule. This is what I have a hard time convincing some of my peers of. I donít like the rule as is (I think we should adopt the NCAA BI rule), but to purposely kick a rule because I donít like it? Thatís not in my DNA.

Now if youíll excuse me, I need to go speak with the rules committee.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote