View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2019, 07:57am
Big Slick Big Slick is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Please read the red portion of R2-S1-A10 above, it says "she is considered to have touched the base unless an appeal has been made". The successful Appeal means that B1 was put out before touching 1B. Therefore let us go to R6-S1-A1, PENALTY, EXCEPTION 1 which says: "If the batter reaches first base safely and each other runner advances at least one base, the illegal pitch is nullified. All action stands and the illegal pitch is canceled." B1 did not reach 1B safely because of the successful Appeal by the Defense, therefore, the Offense does have an option: i) Take the result of the Play or ii) Negate the out by B1 with B1's At Bat continuing with a Ball added to her Ball/Strike count.

MTD, Sr.
Very much incorrect. She reached first base safely, but ruled out because she violated another rule. How can team benefit from breaking a rule?

Here is the NCAA AR (and this would the same in USA and NFHS):
A.R. 10-8. With two outs and no one on base, the pitcher throws an illegal pitch. The batter hits to the outfield and successfully gains second base. However, the batter-runner missed first base and the defense makes a live ball appeal to get the third out. Does the offense have an option to take the result of the play or return the batter to the batter’s box from the illegal pitch because the batter-runner never successfully attained first base or is the option negated because the batter-runner successfully attained second base (and the option is cancelled once she reaches first base)?

RULING: The runner is considered to have possession of the base once she passes it so the option for an illegal pitch is no longer given and the runner is declared out when the defense properly appeals she has missed first base.
Reply With Quote