
Sat Feb 16, 2019, 08:38am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,379
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
I've actually had this play...as a player. I was the catcher, but it was bases loaded with no outs in the bottom of the 7th.
Batter drilled one to the base of the fence about 300' away. R1 scored and when I saw the rest of the runners start celebrating instead of advancing to their respective base, I turned to the PU and said, "Don't go anywhere" and started walking toward 3B. F7 was starting to head in and I told him to go get the ball. He did and tossed it to me. I touched 3B, hustled over to 2B and my right fielder (also an umpire) realized what I was doing and ran to 1B and caught my throw while the other team just realized what was going on.
Umpire made all three out calls and told the team to take the field for the 8th inning. Boy, they were not happy, but their coach actually realized what his team did and told his team to hustle out.
It really isn't a difficult or hard-to-understand rule. However, as far as the improper order of the appeals in the OP, should IMO negate other force outs and should allow the run.
|
A triple play on appeal! That was probably a once in 5 lifetimes event.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
|