View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2019, 04:43pm
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
We've been told (as recently as Sunday's meeting) to sound our whistle on the shot (no team control), the ball either goes in and we later go to run the endline, or we go to the alternating possession arrow. No chance for a rebound.

No rule reference, or casebook reference, just a local thing. Not sure how I feel about this. I need to give it more thought. Maybe a good topic for discussion.
It's not a local thing. It's actually the rule, but gets ignored by most (including me)

Rule: 5-8 ART. 2
Stops play:

a. Because of an injury as in 3-3-6, 3-3-7.

b. To confer with the scorer or timer.

c. Because of unusual delay in getting a dead ball live.

d. For any other situations or any emergency.

NOTE: When a player is injured as in Art. 2(a), the official may suspend play after the ball is dead or is in control of the injured player’s team or when the opponents complete a play. A play is completed when a team loses control (including throwing for goal) or withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. When necessary to protect an injured player, the official may immediately stop play.
"
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Jan 30, 2019 at 04:45pm.
Reply With Quote