View Single Post
  #59 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2019, 10:08am
BillyMac BillyMac is online now
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,391
No Retroactive Dead Ball Here ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Grant Team A's TO request because there was PC by A1 when A-HC made the TO request. Any action after the request was made is not relevant unless it is a Intentional or Flagrant Foul.
By rule, the ball doesn't actually become dead until the whistle is blown by the official. There is no provision in the dead ball rule for the ball to become dead at either the request, or at the granting, only for an official's whistle. Everything is relevant until the whistle is sounded.

We can certainly debate whether, or not, the official should verify that the ball is still in player control after verifying that the request is being made by the head coach.

That specific issue is certainly up for debate. But please let's not use that specific issue to muddy the water in regard to when the ball actually becomes dead.

We cannot debate when the ball becomes dead. That's already in black and white in the rulebook. It becomes dead when the whistle sounds, there is no such thing as a "retroactive dead ball". The ball neither becomes dead at the request, nor at the granting, unless either happens simultaneously with the whistle.

You can look it up (Casey Stengel).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Jan 25, 2019 at 10:48am.
Reply With Quote