View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 17, 2019, 01:07pm
BigCat BigCat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Legally touched? After a violation (later reversed), a dead ball, and a whistle?

Isn't the inadvertent whistle for the ball hitting the ring the point of interruption, not something that happens after the inadvertent whistle (touch inbounds, player control, team control, etc.)?

Point Of Interruption: Method of resuming play due to an official's inadvertent whistle,
ART. 2 Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods:
a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at an out-of-bounds spot
nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred.
b. A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during
this activity or if a team is entitled to such.


There was no team in control (team control during a throwin only applies when a member of the throwin team fouls) when the ball hit the ring, and the ball had not yet been touched, nor possessed (controlled), by another player when the ball hit the ring.

Nobody had player control and/or team control and nobody had touched and/or possessed the ball (after throwin release) before the violation (later reversed), dead ball, and inadvertent whistle when the ball hit the ring.

Since the ball was dead, wouldn't the only things that may have mattered after the violation (later reversed), dead ball, and inadvertent whistle when the ball hit the ring be intentional and/or flagrant fouls?

Player control, team control, ball touched, etc., should be ignored because they all came after the ball became dead.

If a player caught the ball after it hit the ring and made a layup would you count the basket?

The “inadvertent whistle” is the inadvertent whistle. The whistle makes the ball dead in this play. In Altor’s first example no one had touched the ball. Thus the throw in had not legally ended and the POI rule says team A gets another throw in.
The second example has the ball hitting the underside of the rim, immediately deflecting off a player inbounds. Then the whistle. Again the “IW” is the IW. At that moment no team has control inbounds. I know what you are thinking...the reason you blew the whistle was because you thought ball hitting underside of rim was violation. So should you determine the situation from that moment in time? I would tell you no..because you haven’t “interrupted” the game yet under the rules.
As to your question, if a player caught the ball and made a layup..would I count the basket? Absolutely...1. Because I know hitting underside of ring is nothing. 2. If for some reason I thought it was a problem but didn’t interrupt the game until after the layup...the rules require it....The End.
Reply With Quote