View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 05, 2019, 10:59pm
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,765
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
True. Why can't people just answer a simple rules question? Oops, that was a question too. Maybe the poster is coach, a fan or a rec league ref without access to a rule book.

Rule 9-8 says: A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

So to answer to the OP, begin the 10 second count when the player gains control of the ball in the backcourt.
Then qualify that, this is an official's forum, not a coach's or fan's forum.

"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote