Thread: FT with And 1
View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 02:13pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,371
Team Control ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
How can there be TEAM control if the ball is possessed by an official?
Assuming the lead was inbounds ...

Because the rule says so. Ask yourself who had team control before it was controlled by the official?

RULE 4 SECTION 12 CONTROL, PLAYER AND TEAM
ART. 1 A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or -
dribbling a live ball. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a
jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper,
or during an interrupted dribble.
ART. 2 A team is in control of the ball:
a. When a player of the team is in control.

b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.
c. During an interrupted dribble.
d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.
ART. 3 Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
ART. 4 While the ball remains live a loose ball always remains in
control of the team whose player last had control,
unless it is a try or tap
for goal.

If the official, while holding the ball, moves his pivot foot in excess of the legal limitations are you going to call a travel violation?

For all intents and purposes the official is part of the floor.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Dec 28, 2018 at 03:42pm.
Reply With Quote