What am I missing? So the table caused the horn to sound. That has nothing to do with the game AFAIAC. I am not familiar with any rule application. The title of the post said it all "inadvertent." Everything is live and all should continue playing. Addressing the horn after the shot is acceptable but why wave off the first make? What was the table's/ref's explanation for not counting the first FT? Yes, there are lots of things to do to prevent this or even do differently, time permitting, but if there is a horn then immediate shot, who cares? Even if many, but not all, players stopped, who cares, tell them to play.
I find it hard to believe Billy that you would award another shot if the first was missed. You would not do the same if some spectator yelled. By rule, or lack thereof, would you not consider the horn to be treated in the same way?
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
|