View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 18, 2018, 08:42am
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
A throw-back for all you Warner Wolf fans out there.

Retired HS ref with a NCAA rules question. 5 minutes left in the 2nd half and A1 makes a shot attempt with the shot clock expiring just after he shoots. Officials rule the shot grazed the rim, thus avoiding a violation.

Under what circumstances can/should officials go to video to review whether or not the shot did in fact touch the rim? Does that determination to review ever become automatic (e.g., with 2 minutes or less left in the half)? TIA

Rufus:

Just for clarification: Did you mean to say that A1's FGA was not successful but did touch the basket ring?

Only an bald old geezer like myself would have recognized the Warner Wolf reference, .

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote