View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 12, 2003, 02:07pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
[/B]
Damian did say "Nother flagrant or really intentional."

If contact during a dead ball is not flagrant or intentional, it should be ignored. If it is flagrant or intentional, it becomes a technical foul.

If he called a personal, it was incorrect since it was during a dead ball. If he called a technical, it was incorrect because it was neither flagrant nor intentional. [/B][/QUOTE]You're right that he shouldn't call a technical foul under the "contact" language in R10-3-9. However,that doesn't mean that he can't call a technical foul in this instance under the provisions of R10-3-8 instead. If Damian felt that A1 committed "an unsporting act",then he has the backing of this rule to call the T. R10-3-8 was specifically written this way("not limited to...") to give an official the power to call a T for any act that he feels is unsporting,and not necessarily then have to label that foul "flagrant or intentional".
Reply With Quote